Day 57: On the Economy of Words

Lately, I have been writing many short aphorisms. Almost everyday, in fact, as though my brain can’t stop thinking about what makes life worth living. The more I read, the more I write. The more I experience, the more I come up with thoughts that speak to my very essence as a human being about what it means to be born into the world. Am I a philosopher? Well, I would like to think that I am.

Lately I have been bombarded with words that don’t convey any meanings. These words are sometimes rhetorical, sometimes patronizing, and sometimes, simply, mindless. I always hold closest to heart an admiration for people who would express something so true using the least amount of words. Yes, we are talking about writers like Hemmingway and Dickens, and a scholar like Steven Pinker (who is now, by the way, my role model for good writing). So, lately, I have been experimenting with a new kind of writing. So, for those who have been asking me about my absence from blog writing, yes, I have not been writing my blog at all because I have been investing my time in doing something else slightly different, that which is writing aphorisms: a short phrase that expresses a true or wise idea. It’s much easier than done writing aphorisms. Before I started doing it l did not think that it would be so hard. “How hard could it be, compared to writing a long blog post?” Well. Turns out it’s much harder because for an aphorism to have a true effect on the reader’s mind it has to be precise, concise, and, most importantly, poetic. Yes, it’s important that either the parallel sentence structure is absolute parallel; even better, with a part of parts of the sentence containing words that rhym. For instance:

 

One of my most poetic aphorisms so far.

 
I hope this aphorisms bring the point home. Writing these are hard because it’s not easy to get it right in one go. In fact, usually writing one of these takes me a few minutes. Sometimes I stop half way because I cannot be satisfied with what I see. It would be great if there is a medium on which I could show how I come up with these aphorisms: to capture what I have been trying to do, which is, usually I would just start to type as soon as a good idea comes to mine, and then I would change my mind, which would mean that I would be deleting words and then typing and retyping them again and again. And then I would delete more words and then modify the sentence until I have the “truest” prose that satisfy me both philosophically and linguistically. Here’s another one: 

   

My mind may have been influenced by Kant when i wrote this.

 Now, you get the point. I believe in the economy of words. I want to speak less, write less, and mean more. I want this way to thinking — the less is the more — to be my way of life. So, let me share some of them with you in this post. 
   
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
   

One thought on “Day 57: On the Economy of Words

  1. Pingback: Day 68: A Minimalism Manifesto  | 100 days of writing

Leave a Reply

